Posted in mom's life, Parenting, Uncategorized

My new role: A referee

The other day, as I was watching my elder son make different shapes out of playdoh and the younger one trying to pull out the teddy’s nose with his gums; I felt content and at peace. I was so happy to see and playing on their own, none of them interfering with each other’s toys.

Thinking about them, I fell asleep.

I woke up about 10-15 minutes later to ear splitting screams! Wondering what is wrong, I went to see in the other room. I was shocked at what I saw!

and had grown up a few years! was 7 years old and was 4. “How did that happen?” I wondered. I started rubbing my eyes to confirm what I was seeing!! As I was staring at them, screamed again. was pulling a toy car out of Q’s hand. And before he could pull out his fingers, I had to intervene and stop them.

Again, after some time, came complaining that was not letting him study. So, I had to intervene again.

In the meantime, as I was making snacks for them, I kept thinking, “How did they grow up so fast? Where did the time go?”

And I got a cricket ball that shattered the glasses in the kitchen as the answer!

and were playing cricket in the house and were fighting over whose turn was it to bat. I was about to yell at them, when a brilliant idea struck me. I ran to their room and started searching their toys like a maniac. Both of them stood at the door and were watching me with their mouths open. Alas! I found what I was looking for. A whistle.

And then I blew it! Every single time when and fought, I blew the whistle. They understood that they have to stop fighting and arguing and get back to their work when they hear the sound of the whistle.

My husband called me a referee, as whenever and would be home, most of my time would be spent on settling their disputes. Yes, it was my new role.

As I lay down to sleep, I got really scared thinking about and Q. How much they were fighting and arguing all the time. But then I also realised, that this is all just a phase. As they grow older and busier, their disagreements will reduce. I may not have to use the whistle for a very long time! Anyway, whistling is a good exercise for the lungs!!

After some time, as I woke up, I found still playing with his playdoh and still trying to pull out the teddy’s nose! What a dream it was!

I hugged my and tight, and smiling at them I thought, “There’s still time for my new role as a referee! Let me enjoy this phase till it lasts!!”

Happy reading!!

Pic courtesy : Google images 

Author’s note : This post first appeared on mycity4kids parenting platform. 

Author:

A daughter, a wife, a mother and a doctor; trying to fulfill all these responsibilities to my best! Writing has always been my passion and now finally I have enough motivation and encouragement to get going in pursuing it. I am also a regular blogger on mycity4kids.com, which is a parenting and relationships' website. I am not very good in communication skills, writing has helped me express my thoughts freely and it is a liberating and cathartic experience for me. I mainly write articles on parenting and relationships based on my everyday experiences. As a mother to two boys, each day is extremely eventful, fun filled and joyous for me. And I learn something new every single day! I have started this website to reach a larger audience all over the world. Hope you all enjoy reading my posts!!

Leave a Reply

